Teaching Statement

My approach to teaching and enthusiasm is motivating my students to study Economics with great excitement and interest. My teaching style was largely influenced by the professor who taught “Public Economics” in my junior year in college. He encouraged me to think critically with challenging subject inside and outside of the classroom. While taking his course, I discovered my passion and interest in Economics. His enthusiasm for Economics finally made me continue my study and pursue a teaching career in Economics.

I have been teaching various courses and levels of students, from a theory based highly structured topic, such as Intermediate level of Microeconomics and Macroeconomics to Principles of Economics, as well as practical quantitative ones like Econometrics, Statistics and Mathematics. However, regardless of the topic, my main goal is the same as each class should be interesting and meaningful. Sometimes I succeed and other days I fail but I learn a lot every time how to make it interesting. On the other hand, each student need to adopt critical thinking and analytical skills for the future in the long run. I have been striving to balance these two aspects.

When I was a teaching assistant at the University at Buffalo, my first job was helping a professor who taught Principles of Economics in a large lecture hall. He always gave special importance to the personal attention and student engagement. His approach helped a lot about how to manage a class of hundreds when I taught students in a large lecture hall. I moves around the class so that I can take an attention and hear every student easily, as well as addresses them more personally with students’ names. Even though I teach in small class size now, I am always aiming to engage the students with these methods.

As the Roman philosopher Seneca said, “While we teach, we learn,” I encourage my students to work together in small group not only for studying but problem sets in class. Students can learn the concept in detail by teaching other classmates. In my Business and Economic Statistics course, I developed a group project where students test their own hypothesis using the statistical model discussed in class.

I encourage my students to ask any questions at any time and I confirm that my answer is enough to remove any doubts because I believe that efficient communication is important in the welcoming class to boost the learning process. I induce students to find the answer of their own questions by following the relevant series of questions and real life examples. By doing so, they will develop their intuitions and skills of critical thinking and they derive the right conclusion even though they forget the specific concepts.

I am always open to adjust the level by listening to the opinion from students. I cannot find easy answer for setting up the proper level of difficulty for the class in order not to make average students either bored or totally lost. From time to time, I spend enough time to go over practice questions especially difficult to understand for students. In addition, I am not limiting to my office hours during the designated time but extending to online virtual office hours for the students not available during regular hours. I can help them by using online chatting software, video conference, as well as social network services. Before each exam, I upload the practice exam to build up rational expectation.

To sum up, I stay enthusiastic and eager to supply the education at a unique and effective level. My teaching perspectives can be summarized as follows: First, I do my best to balance both skills of critical thinking and enjoying the topic for each student. Second, I make an effort to boost the learning process with efficient communication in welcoming class.

Leave a Reply

